Iokai Shiatsu

english-logo

1Founded in the past century by Masunaga Senseï, the Iokai Shiatsu (shi: fingers and atsu: pressure) is a relatively young Japanese technique. Its sources, however, go very far back. Tuina, a traditional Chinese body technique dating back to about 2700 BC, is considered the mother of shiatsu. This is why the principles of Traditional Chinese Medicine, Yin and Yang, the study of the 5 elements and the acupuncture points remain closely linked to shiatsu. Through his pragmatic research, Masunaga Senseï codified the use of meridians and developed a therapeutic approach that became recognised in Japan, then in the West and in the East.

2Shiatsu is traditionally practiced on the floor and fully dressed. It involves exerting pressure with the fingers, palms, forearms, elbows and knees on the energetic meridians of the body, as well as on the main points (tsubos). The meridians are the subtle paths for the circulation of vital energy (the Ki, in Japanese) and form a link between the surface of the body and the deep organs. Shiatsu also includes a wide variety of gentle mobilizations of the body joints.

Iokai Shiatsu is an art that is distinguished from a simple manual technique by the fact that it engages the psychic and physical wholeness (spirit-body) of the practitioner and the recipient. The quality of this communication is one of the essential points of Iokai Shiatsu in which the term “touching life” lies. Sasaki Senseï was deeply touched by these aspects during his collaboration with Masunaga Senseï and it is the heart of this approach that he teaches in Europe.

Iokai Shiatsu

english-logo

1Fondé au siècle passé par Masunaga Senseï, le Iokai Shiatsu (shi : doigts et atsu : pression) est une technique japonaise relativement jeune. Ses sources remontent cependant à très loin. Le Tuina, technique corporelle traditionnelle chinoise datant d’environ 2700 ans avant J.-C., est considéré comme la mère du shiatsu. C’est pourquoi les principes de la médecine traditionnelle chinoise, le Yin et le Yang, l’étude des 5 éléments et les points d’acupuncture restent en lien étroit avec le shiatsu. Par ses recherches pragmatiques, Masunaga Senseï a codifié l’usage des méridiens et a développé une approche thérapeutique reconnue au Japon puis en Occident et en Orient.

2Le shiatsu se pratique traditionnellement au sol et habillé. Il consiste à exercer des pressions avec les doigts, les paumes, les avant-bras, les coudes et les genoux sur les méridiens énergétiques du corps, ainsi que sur les points principaux (tsubos). Les méridiens sont les voies subtiles empruntées par la circulation de l’énergie vitale (le Ki, en japonais) et constituent un lien entre la surface du corps et les organes profonds. Le shiatsu comprend également une large variété de mobilisations articulaires très douces.

Le Iokai Shiatsu est un art qui se distingue d’une simple technique manuelle par le fait qu’il engage la globalité psychique et physique (esprit-corps) du praticien et du receveur. La qualité de cette communication est un des points essentiels du Iokai Shiatsu dans laquelle réside le terme « toucher la vie ». Sasaki Senseï a été profondément touché par ces aspects durant sa collaboration avec Masunaga Senseï et c’est le cœur de cette approche qu’il enseigne en Europe.